Anarchy in the UK –

Is this the MPLA,
Or is this the UDA,
Or is this the IRA,
I thought it was the UK,
Or just another country.
Another council tenancy.


‘Anarchy in the UK’, The Sex Pistols, released 1976, written by G Matlock, P Cook, S Jones, J Rotten.
lyrics © Warner/Chappell Music, Inc., BMG RIGHTS MANAGEMENT US, LLC


I can remember myself being shocked by the Sex Pistols in the late 70s, but by the 80s, when I was older –  no longer a teen – I got their message.  Maybe they were being exploited commercially, I won’t get into that argument, but this line in ANARCHY, tells me what they were all about; anger at the arrogance of Britain and its attempts to still hang on to the last vestiges of glory from its Empire days, and still not recognising the poverty that remained in the country.  Maybe Britain had been great, but it was now just another country, and for all its former glory it had still not dealt with the issue of poverty.

Eirene

Leave a comment